FISD Teachers Honored at Annual Beaumont Foundation Awards Gala

The Beaumont Foundation of America honored Frenship teachers Brianne Katilus and Honey Segrist as winners of the Beaumont Foundation’s 2018 Newton Excellence in Education Award as part of the Foundation’s ongoing commitment to support education.

The celebration took place Wednesday night at the Mckenzie-Merket Alumni Center at Texas Tech University. Katilus and Segrist each received a crystal obelisk, a professional portrait, and a $10,000 award.

Pictured (l-r): NCG Principal Heath Simpson, FISD Superintendent Dr. Michelle McCord, Honey Segrist, Brianne Katilus, Bennett Principal Michelle Elliott

Katilus, an English teacher at Frenship High School’s Ninth Grade Center, has taught at FISD for the past three years and a total of 15 years. Katilus is described as a servant leader who has helped grow the campus, department and climate of the NGC.

“When you walk into Mrs. Katilus’s class you are going to see innovative, hands-on, collaborative and higher-thinking lessons,” said Heath Simpson, Principal at FHS NGC. “We are extremely blessed to have her in FISD.”

Segrist, a 22-year veteran teacher at Bennett Elementary, teaches Resource Math. She has been in the classroom for a total of 26 years.

“I have worked with Honey for 17 years and have always been amazed with the energy and efficiency that she brings to her daily tasks,” said Dana Cooley, Segrist’s peer and nominator. “She is incredibly knowledgeable of each student’s needs and works hard to fill gaps.”

According to the Beaumont Foundation, the Newton Excellence in Education Award was created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning. The program provides public recognition and financial rewards to educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education.

In the nine years of the Newton Excellence in Education Award’s existence, Frenship ISD teachers have won 20 of the 27 available awards:

Honey Segrist (Bennett), Brianne Katilus (FHS Ninth Grade Center)
Karen Moorhead (Legacy), Connie Pfanmiller (FHS)
Wendy Reeves (North Ridge), Amy Baker (FHS)
Laura Buchanan (Westwind)
Julie Rogers (North Ridge), Laura Grace (Terra Vista), Altah Swindle (FHS)
Joy Burkhalter (Crestview), Cheryl Mosher (FMS)
Joy Field (Crestview), Karen Holt (FMS), Courtney Ferguson (FHS)
Karen Conder (Crestview), Jim Crites (FHS)
Saundra Wimberley (Crestview), Kris Janeway (Terra Vista), Janet Flusche (FHS)