Westwind Teacher Wins 2015 Newton Excellence in Education Award

Laura BuchananFrenship Independent School District is proud to announce Westwind Elementary teacher Laura Buchanan has been awarded the Beaumont Foundation’s 2015 Newton Excellence in Education Award as part of the Foundation’s ongoing commitment to support education.

Buchanan, a special education teacher at Westwind for the past 17 years, was selected from a collection of impressive teacher nominations from the Lubbock region.

“Mrs. Buchanan’s passion and love for students and learning is inspiring and deeply heartfelt,” says Rhonda Coursey, Westwind Elementary Assistant Principal.  “She is an overcomer and an innovator, and it is with great passion that she impacts all those she comes in contact with each day with love, acceptance and grace.”

Buchanan will be honored and receive a $10,000 check during the Awards Gala on Wednesday, May 13 at Texas Tech University’s McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center.

According to the Beaumont Foundation website, the Awards were created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning.  The program provides public recognition and financial rewards to educational professionals who are furthering excellence in education.

In the six years of the Newton Excellence in Education Award’s existence, Frenship ISD teachers have won 14 of the 18 available awards:


Saundra Wimberley (Crestview), Kris Janeway (Terra Vista), Janet Flusche (FHS)


Karen Conder (Crestview), Jim Crites (FHS)


Joy Field (Crestview), Karen Holt (FMS), Courtney Ferguson (FHS)


Joy Burkhalter (Crestview), Cheryl Mosher (FMS)


Julie Rogers (North Ridge), Laura Grace (Terra Vista), Altah Swindle (FHS)


Laura Buchanan (Westwind)