Top 1.6 Percent Recognized at Academic Excellence Banquet

Thirty students from the 10th, 11th and 12th grades at Frenship High School who are ranked in the top 10 of their class were awarded for their academic efforts.

Top-10-Banquet-2017-7Thirty Frenship High School students from the 10th, 11th and 12th grades were recognized at the Frenship ISD Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Banquet Tuesday (May 16) evening.

The students recognized are all ranked in the top 10 of their class, which consists of only 1.6 percent of Frenship’s student body in the three grades combined.


Frenship ISD Superintendent Michelle McCord and Frenship High School Principal Greg Hernandez were in attendance to honor and congratulate each of the students for their academic efforts before the 2016-17 school year ends.

Keynote speaker Abie Rampey, executive director of brand excellence and public relations of Chick-fil-a, encouraged students by speaking about finding their purpose in their future endeavors and putting forth their best efforts to achieve their goals.

The students each received awards, including Frenship’s 2017 Valedictorian Mackenzie Boyd and 2017 Salutatorian Kaytlin Raney.

Boyd, who plans to attend the Red McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas-Austin, is involved in Frenship’s Business Professionals of America, UIL Academics and National Honor Society and has volunteered with the South Plains Food Bank, PetSmart, Mission Lubbock, coaching basketball and donating blood.


Raney, who plans to attend Oklahoma Christian University, is involved in the Parent Teacher Student Association, National Honor Society and the varsity golf team and has volunteered with Sunset Church of Christ Student Leadership Team and the Haven Animal Shelter.

Those who were recognized include (in alphabetical order):


  • Mackenzie Boyd (Valedictorian)
  • Alexiss Dennett
  • Ashley Gray
  • Nick Harrison
  • Kaylen Meers
  • Kier Monteverde
  • Guy Morales
  • Kaytlin Raney (Salutatorian)
  • Chelsea Siemens
  • Madison Sparkman


  • Clara Baker
  • Jennifer Bowler
  • Caroline Cushman
  • Alexa Dippel
  • Nanette Dolera
  • Jacob Evans
  • Ashley Kilpatrick
  • Molly Smith
  • Sydnie Smith
  • Jane Whiting


  • Charles Dabbs
  • Kathleen Jurecka
  • Erin Ritchie
  • Steffanie Roldan
  • Monica Saso
  • Zachary Sims
  • Katie Stanford
  • Elida Trostle
  • Zachariah Williams
  • Jeanne Yang

Congratulations to each of these students for their academic accomplishments!