FHS Students Honored At Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Banquet

The top 10 students from the Frenship High School sophomore, junior and senior classes gathered together for one final awards celebration of their academic achievements for the 2015-16 school year. The Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Banquet is a special ceremony that recognizes these outstanding students for their efforts in the classroom.

Superintendent of School’s Dr. Michelle McCord began the evening by congratulating the students and their parents on the outstanding successes obtained this school year. McCord also spoke about the importance of having determination, leadership and good character moving forward in life and that these students have already demonstrated these distinguished qualities.

DSC_0896The group then received a special address by Dr. Donald Topliff, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Angelo State University. The audience listened to Dr. Topliff’s words of encouragement about following your dreams and being proactive in making them come true. It was a pleasure for the students to hear from Topliff who has played a vital role in the dual credit partnership ASU has with FHS, and that many of these students are benefiting from.

Before concluding the night the 30 students receiving recognition were each presented with an award for their academic endeavors and they each had the opportunity to introduced loved ones that support them. FHS Principal Greg Hernandez also presented the Valedictorian and Salutatorian for the graduating class of 2016.

CDSC_0963aitlyn Rush has been named valedictorian and Garrett Stanford has been named salutatorian for Frenship High School’s class of 2016. Rush, daughter of Dr. Richard and Donna Rush, graduates with a 104.58 grade point average.  She plans to attend Baylor University and major in English. Stanford, son of Brad and Susan Stanford graduates with a 103.76 grade point average. He plans to attend Colorado School of Mines and major in Mechanical Engineering.


Caitlyn Rush

Garrett Stanford

Leah Giles

Landon Hardy

Jacob Hood

Keenan Judge

Nathaniel Kimball

Lars Lindgren

Michael Mercado

Emily Stephens


Mackenzie Boyd

Alexiss Dennett

Ashley Gray

Christopher Jerabek

Kaylen Meers

Kier Monteverde

Guy Morales

Kaytlin Raney

Chelsea Siemens

Madison Sparkman


Clara Baker

Jennifer Bowler

Alexa Dippel

Nanette Dolera

Jacob Evans

Ashley Kilpatrick

Jonathon Nguyen

Molly Smith

Sydnie Smith

Jane Whiting

Congratulations to each of the students recognized at this year’s 2015-16 Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Banquet.

2016 Superintendent’s Academic Excellence Banquet Program