Frenship Track Sending 12 Athletes to Regionals

Nine Frenship girls and three Frenship boys are headed to compete at the Region I Track and Field Championships after their strong performances at the District 1-6A/2-6A Area Meet last Friday in Wolfforth.

Jaliyah Jackson

Regional qualifiers had to finish in the top four of their respective event to qualify.

Sarah Tackitt claimed another gold in the pole vault, Megan Hartline was first in both the shot put and discus, Cassandra Awatt won the 400-meter dash, and Jaliyah Jackson won the 200,

The 1600-meter relay team of Awatt, Jackson, Marissa Mirabal, and Madison Sparkman also claimed first placed as did the 400-meter relay team of Awatt, Jackson, Margaret Gaydon, and Bailey Martinez.

Brogan Ross also qualified in the long jump.

Jacob Piel is heading to regionals after a scond place finish in the shot put. He will be joined at regionals by his teammates Devin Williams (triple jump) and Myron Harrell (200).

The Region I Track and Field Championships are Friday-Saturday, April 28-29 at the University of Texas at Arlington’s Maverick Stadium.

Below are the Frenship athletes who are advancing to the Regional Meet after finishing in the top four spots at the area championships:

Devin Williams



Team totals: 1. Midland, 102 points; 2. Frenship, 98; 3.Permian, 80; 4. Tascosa, 68; 5. El Paso Socorro, 53; 6. El Paso Coronado, 42

Pole vault: 1. Sarah Tackitt, 11-6

Long jump: 3. Brogan Ross, 17-4¼

Shot put: 1. Megan Hartline, 41-9½

Discus: 1. Megan Hartline, 122-3

200: 1. Jaliyah Jackson, 24.85

400: 1. Cassandra Awatt, 56.91

400 relay: 1. Frenship (Cassandra Awatt, Margaret Gaydon, Bailey Martinez, Jaliyah Jackson), 48.13

1,600 relay: 1. Frenship (Marissa Mirabal, Madison Sparkman, Cassandra Awatt, Jaliyah Jackson), 3:59.72

Cassandra Awatt


Team totals: 1. Tascosa, 96 points; 2. Midland, 84; 3. El Paso Americas, 73; 4. El Paso Franklin, 62; 5. El Paso Eastwood, 59; 8. Frenship, 28

Triple jump: 3. Devin Williams, 43-3¾

Shot put: 2. Jacob Piel, 51-5½

200: 2. Myron Harrell, 21.96