Frenship ISD Board of Trustees Selected as 2019 Honor School Board

Press release provided by Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA)

The Frenship ISD Board of Trustees is one of five school boards from across Texas selected as an Honor School Board as part of the 2019 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) School Board Awards. Each year, the program recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Superintendent Robin Ryan, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2018. The selection committee’s decisions were based on criteria that includes: support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics; and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

The committee was impressed that the Frenship ISD Board’s commitment to the district’s vision and beliefs has built a culture of support for students, teachers, staff and community.

The Frenship Board of Trustees was nominated for the award by Superintendent Michelle McCord. “Our board demonstrates an unshakeable resolve to accomplish our vision of ‘seeking perfection and capturing excellence’ for every child, every day,” said McCord. “They have a reputation of strong, thoughtful and consistent leadership that is aligned with the community’s values. They honor the past to provide momentum for the future.”

The FISD Board of Trustees was also selected as an Honor Board in 1998.

The FISD and other four Honor Boards — from Harlingen, Pasadena, Rockwall and Tyler — are now finalists for the program’s highest honor: 2019 Outstanding School Board. They will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas, where one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s first general session at 4 p.m., Sept. 20. The other Honor Boards, as well as eight regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

Since 1971, the TASA School Board Awards program has honored Texas school district boards of trustees that have demonstrated dedication to student achievement and that put students first. The program is facilitated by TASA, the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.