FHS Engineering Teams Compete in First Tech Challenge

Five Frenship Engineering Teams competed Saturday, January 31, 2015 at the FIRST Tech Challenge (FTC) at Frenship High School.  FTC Teams of students are responsible for designing, building, and programming their robots to compete in an alliance format against other teams. Teams are required to develop strategy and build robots based on sound engineering principles and work with other teams in the competition to accomplish common goals.  Five teams from Frenship participated and did a great job. Four teams advanced to the Semi Finals and Three Teams Advanced to the Finals.  Three teams will advance to a State Championship Tournament in February.  The following are the teams and awards.  Please congratulate these students on a job well done.

Team #5746: Frenship Eridium: Advances to Championship

Winner of the Think Award: Given to the team that reflects through the engineering notebook, the “journey” the team took as they experienced the engineering design process during the build season.

Winner of the Finalist Alliance Award: given to the 2nd place alliance in the Final match.

12th grade: Ryan Steelman, Katie Lee, AJ Davison, Zach Dixon, Kevin Whitehurst, Tyler Wiley, Zach Aguirre, Elijah De Los Santos, Jared Castellano, Austin Reed, Blake Wall, Sam Hnatek

Team #4874—Frenship The Reel Deal: Advances to Championship

Winner of the Connect Award: Given to the team that most connects with their local and engineering community.

10th grade: Jonas Aleman, Alia Gill, Rahil Patel, Bryson Riley, Grant Sharp, Eric Beam, Davis Beilue, Nathan Johnson, Dylan Katalbas, Juan Longoria, Justin Ninemire, Ethan Oursbourn, Trace Richardson

Team 9638—Frenship Ellipse: Advances to Championship

2nd Place Finalist Alliance, 3rd team

9th grade: Joel Buford, Trevor Dunn, Sawyer Ebert, Lane Fischer, Brandon Ritchie, Morgan Scott, Molly Smith, Kaden Spoon, Jansen Stevens, Coleman Todd, Tyler Tucker, Isaiah Williams

Team 5312—Frenship

4th Place in Semifinals

12th grade: Kevin Fehr, Sam Godinez, Avery Reynolds, Marco Esguerra, Kyle Castle, Blake Beal

11th Grade: James Hampton, Charles Hicks

Team 6331

11th grade: Drew Chapman, Jayson Crandall, Logan Hancock, Dacoda Huguley, Gavin Niebuhr

10th grade: Dylan Frazier, Jaden Gregory