Frenship Foundation Awards Annual Character Scholarship to FHS Seniors Frenship Foundation Awards Annual Character Scholarship to FHS Seniors

It was a day of celebration for 48 Frenship High School seniors who were recognized as Character Scholarship winners during the annual Frenship Foundation for Leadership Scholarship Recipient Luncheon last Friday at the Casey Administration Building. The Foundation awarded each winning student with a scholarship in the amount of $1,200.

“This year we had an increased number of applicants totaling 125,” said Emily Solis, Director of the Frenship Foundation. “Only one point separated some of those receiving scholarships from those who didn’t, so it was an extremely competitive year. We are so proud of each student represented here today, because it means they were at the very top of their class in terms of character and leadership.”

The Frenship Foundation believes that character is a vital component in defining success. While a lot of scholarships reward academic performance, the Foundation chooses to focus on leadership and qualities that represent outstanding character.

The Character Scholarships are funded each year by the Drive for Leaders Golf Tournament. All money raised at the tournament goes to the student scholarship winners. Since 2003, proceeds from the annual Drive for Leaders Golf Tournament have granted 324 scholarships totaling $766,200. This year was the 16th year for the tournament.

Below is a list of students who were selected as recipients of the Frenship Foundation for Leadership Character Scholarship:

  • Abigayle Stevens
  • Addison Wilson
  • Alondra Paredes
  • Amanda Harvey
  • Ashley Lunsford
  • Aspen Wheelis
  • Austin Phillips
  • Bailey Nall
  • Brennan Wolfe
  • Brogan Ross
  • Brooklyn Nix
  • Caitlin Clemmons
  • Caitlin Trobridge
  • Caleb Rogers
  • Caroline Kerr
  • Cayley Wood
  • Chase Hoodenpyle
  • Corinne Whitaker
  • Erin Ritchie
  • Kaitlyn Gossett
  • Kameryn Slayton
  • Kason Meers
  • Kathleen Jurecka
  • Katie Rogers
  • Katie Stanford
  • Kaytlynn Nairn
  • Kendall Brumley
  • Kenzie Mendez
  • Kinsey Rich
  • Lauren Jimenez
  • Macee Maddox
  • Maddie Arredondo
  • Marshall Chapman
  • Max Rowley
  • Monica Cadavid
  • Monica Saso
  • Payton Reeves
  • Presley Pharies
  • Rae Sorensen
  • Riley Robinson
  • Sadie Williams
  • Sarah Tackitt
  • Seree Sturdivant
  • Skylar Sansom
  • Stephanie Piel
  • Sydney Delavan
  • Sydney Stratton
  • Zachary Sims

One special Character Scholarship recipient was surprised with an additional scholarship that day. Max Rowley was awarded the Fallen Tiger Memorial Scholarship, funded by the Frenship Alumni Association, for being the top scorer in the class. Not only did Max have the top score, he had a perfect score of 100 – the first time in the Foundation’s history that a student had a perfect score. FHS Alumna, Shea Katilus, presented the scholarship on behalf of the Alumni Association to Max in the amount of $500.

The luncheon also recognized corporate sponsors who support the Foundation, as well as the volunteers who support the Frenship Foundation for Leadership. For more information about the Foundation and how to get involved, please visit

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email