FHS Students Succeed in Extracurricular Competitions

Those who succeeded are a part of Frenship Tiger Automotive team, DECA, Business Professionals of America, HOSA – Future Health Professionals and UIL.

Congratulations to all of the Frenship High School students who competed, placed, and advanced to future competitions during the weekend, including the Frenship Tiger Automotive team, DECA, Business Professionals of America, HOSA – Future Health Professionals and UIL.

See the results of each competition below:

Frenship Automotive Team

The team competed at the Universal Technical Institute in Dallas Top Tech Challenge, competing against 56 teams from four states. Two Frenship students exceled at the challenge, including:

Lance Lee and Jordan Hernandez who finished 4th overall out of the 56 teams.

Lance Lee also finished with the third highest score overall out of 112 students.

Both of these students received $1,000 scholarship from UTI, and Lee also received a $250 multimeter for finishing third.

Business Professionals of America

Students competed in the regional competition on Saturday, with 18 students qualifying for state in March. The students who advanced include:

Brandon Hayes
3rd Place- Advanced Accounting

Ethan Oursbourn
4th Place- Advanced Office Systems & Procedures

Brandon Ritchie
1st Place- Advanced Spreadsheet Applications

Erin Ritchie
2nd Place- Human Resource Management

Tyson Cluff
4th Place- Basic Office Systems and Procedures

Mubtasim Shaikh
3rd Place- Fundamental Desktop Publishing

Devyn Ledesma
1st Place- Medical Office Procedures

Jared McKee, Zachariah Williams, Calob Andrade, Case Dickey
2nd Place- Presentation Management Team

Mackenzie Boyd, Marc Rey, Cameron Arellano
1st Place- Global Marketing Team

Mackenzie Boyd
3rd Place- Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications

Cameron Arellano
3rd Place- Java Programming

Trevor Larson, Marx Bielefeldt, Kylah Higby, Austin Higby
2nd Place- Video Production Team

Kylah Higby
1st Place- Intermediate Word Processing


FHS Academic UIL students competed at the Red Raider Classic at Texas Tech on Saturday. The follow students placed in their events:

5A-6A Individual Calculator
Kier Monteverde, 10th place

12th Grade Calculator
Kier Monteverde, 4th place
Brandon Ritchie, 8th place

10th Grade Calculator
Hannah Seo, 7th place
Monroe Stephenson, 10th place

9th Grade Calculator
Riki Sampson, 2nd place

Computer Apps
Mackenzie Boyd, 5th place
Joshua Kennon, 6th place

Computer Science
Cameron Arellano, 3rd place
Marx Brelefeldt, 6th place
Shaunn Greenlee, 7th place
Isaac Clemens, 10th

Current Issues & Events
Spencer Lopez, 9th place

5A-6A Individual Math
Hannah Seo, 3rd place
Riki Sampson, 9th place

2nd Place Math Team
Hannah Seo
Riki Sampson
Cameron Arellano
Isaac Clemens

12th Grade Mathematics
Cameron Arellano, 8th place

10th Grade Mathematics
Hannah Seo, 3rd place

9th Grade Mathematics
Riki Sampson, 1st place

5A-6A Individual Number Sense
Riki Sampson, 2nd place

2nd Place Number Sense Team
Riki Sampson
Hannah Seo
Kier Monteverde
Isaac Clemens

12th Grade Number Sense
Kier Monteverde, 4th place

11th Grade Number Sense
Isaac Clemens, 5th place
Jacob Evans, 6th place
Stephanie Boston, 9th place

10th Grade Number Sense
Hannah Seo, 6th place
Faith Quintanilla, 10th place

9th Grade Number Sense
Riki Sampson, 1st place

5A-6A Individual Science
Jansen Stevens, 8th place
Timothy Ramos, 9th place

2nd Place Science Team
Jansen Stevens
Timothy Ramos
Kade Bonath
Cameron Arellano
Lorenzo Giles
Shaunn Greenlee

12th Grade Science
Kade Bonath, 5th place
Cameron Arellano, 7th place

11th Grade Science
Jansen Stevens, 3rd place
Lorenzo Giles, 5th place
Shaunn Greenlee, 7th place

10th Grade Science
Timothy Ramos, 3rd place

9th Grade Science
Riki Sampson, 2nd place

Spelling & Vocab
Clara Baker, 6th place
Trisha Bolla, 8th place
Ashton Bayless, 9th place

3rd Place Spelling Team
Clara Baker
Trisha Bolla
Ashton Bayless


More than 200 students competed in the 2017 district DECA competition in Amarillo, consisting of intense testing, written projects, sales presentations, role plays and case study scenarios. This year, 48 FHS students advanced to the state competition, including:

Jan Wilson
Top 10 qualifier in Job Interview

Kelsie Caswell
Top 10 qualifier in Window Display

McCaleb Hart
Top 10 qualifier in Window Display and Game Board Design

Daniella Jamarillo
Principles of Business Management

Landon Turner
Principles of Finance

Erin Ritchie
Human Resources

Hannah Beilue
Hotel and Lodging Management

Nate Wilson
Quick Serve Restaurant

Kelsie Caswell
Retail Merchandising

Zac Lowery
Sports and Entertainment Series

Kimberly Herrera
Sports and Entertainment Series

Calob Andrade and Zachariah Williams
Marketing Management Team Decision Making

Brycen McClellan and Miller Hardy
Marketing Management Team Decision Making

Jordan McCullough and Avery Birchfield
Business Law and Ethics

Brett Morris
Personal Financial Literacy

Nicolas Doss
Personal Financial Literacy

Lynsie Craycraft
Hospitality and Tourism Professional Selling

Matthew Ramirez and Zane Walker
Hospitality Services Team Decision Making

Landon Parrot and Jace Winters
Sports and Entertainment Marketing Decision Making Team

Darian Johnson and Isaac Hernandez
Sports and Entertainment Marketing Decision Making Team

Case Dickey and Harden Frick
Sports and Entertainment Marketing Decision Making Team

Adam Barnett and Grayson Murphy
Buying and Merchandising Research Operations

Zac Branch
Entrepreneurship Innovation Plan

McCaleb Hart
Independent Business Plan

Adison Farthing
Strat-Up Business Plan

Clay York
Professional Selling

Guy Morales
Professional Selling

Jackson Rowden
Financial Consulting

Emily Black and Aly Black
Fashion Promotion Plan

Alex Buelna
Fashion Promotion Plan

Brennan Wolfe
Sports and Entertainment Promotion Plan

Brandon Hayes, Brandon Ritchie and Ethan Oursbourne
Sports and Entertainment Promotion Plan

Sydney DeLavan
Advertising Campaign

Armand Hernandez and Payton Adams
Advertising Campaign

Caleb Starr, Fausto Montes and Ashley McClellan
Advertising Campaign

Jan Wilson and Kelsie Hudgens
Community Service Chapter Project